General Discussion

View Only
  • 1.  How to create buy-in support from management?

Adopter
    Posted 04-21-2022 20:24
    I've been developing ProntoForms forms for our Field Service team since early last year.  I am also a Field Service Engineer.  We are new to this whole concept presented by Pronto.  I've had great support from my management in the past, but the entire management team changed over the summer/fall.  And I can't get them to understand how to use ProntoForms or leverage it towards success.  They've seen it as just a glorified PDF form builder.  For example, I was asked if I could create a Fillable PDF form that we could just send to a customer for completion.  Confusing Pronto with Acrobat I think.  And one of our associate companies wanted me to send them "blank" forms that they could use.  I think they're all trying to get something for free here.  I've worked to bring to their attention features such as Feedback Forms, among others, and Pronto has been good enough to provide quotes for additional services.  But any additionall cost is anathema right now as they try to justify their new jobs financially to the executive team.  They complained quite loudly about having to increase our user licenses by 5, for a total of 30.  This is the atmosphere I'm up against.

I've been relegated in the last few months to more field work than strategic efforts and I believe they've tried to keep me away from this work I've enjoyed so much.  As they see the complexity of the forms I've created and with their time restraints preventing them from learning about Pronto, they've slowly let me back into working with Pronto.  Frankly, I'm prying the door open with my bare hands!

I guess the question I'm asking is simply:  How can I generate support from management to justify the additional expense of developing and maintaining our recent efforts?  How can I get them to understand exactly what the effort would be worth for the future?

------------------------------